Guest Post: Puddydumpling’s MfNe, Part III

by ibukisuika

Welcome back. When we left last time, we just entered the Lair of Beasts. The lair is 8 levels full of mostly weird animals and the occasional Unique; for most characters, its pretty easy.  Just a bunch of rats and frogs. For the first couple of levels, I didn’t even think it was worth tanking screenshots.

On the third floor, however, Ash’s monster detection finally kicks in, just in time to detect this hydra. Hydras (along with Death Yak Packs and Catelopes) are the three “big Threats” in Lair.  However, this guy turns out not really to be a big deal, though, as a couple wand zaps, my zombies, and trident pokes are easily enough to take him down.

I put him to good use shortly afterwards, ordering his body to take Gastranook, who you can see is wearing the unrandart troll leather hat.

TROLL LEATHER HAT.  DO NOT WEAR THIS IT IS A DEATHTRAP. (I might wear it much later if I find a book with Haunt, but until then… NO)

OOOOohhhh, check out what Maudy is holding.  Maud is special because she can spawn with a super duper weapon.  (Donald, Margery, Frederick, and hell knights are also in this class, so make sure to always check their gear!)  The demon trident ends up being +0,+3 of flaming, but I can’t switch yet because I’m still having trouble finding curse scrolls. 😦

BEES.  Here’s a good place to use Corpse Rot!

Lair Branches: Snake and Swamp.  I was really hoping to find the Shoals, and the bottom layer will have TONS of great polearms and branded tridents.  If I had gotten the shoals, I would have started training throwing right away.

At the bottom of Lair, I finally get 5 pips of piety, just in time for the Jungle Book ending. Notice that I leave my zombies outside, so I can summon them in later in a more adventageous position.

A forgotten ability of Ash’s is Scrying, but it’s very useful. The monsters in this vault are very dangerous, I want to see if its worth bothering with this vault at all. I check out the loot and see this INCREDIBLE BOUNTY:

The trick with this vault is that when you open the door to the loot vault, all the elephant statues wake up and turn into dire elephants, an extremely dangerous melee beast.  However, I had made preparations beforehand so that I could easily deal with them by luring them one at a time into the open, and then surrounding them with my goons.  I kill them quite easily this way.

thus, we finish Lair.  Here’s my inventory:

And here’s my skills:

So, we’re looking pretty good. I cursed my cloak to get the armour enhancement, but I’m gonna hold off on making any more equipment changes until we finish Orc.

Speaking of Orc, I arrive there and start thrashing about the place.  Similar to the lair situation, there’s not much worth in me effortlessly tabbing through a bunch of orcs, wizards and priests.  On the second floor though, I find this volcano.  You’ll notice that I’m pretty low in HP; this is because I ran past Uruk (an Orc Knight Unique) and a fire drake to get to the poral before it closed, and they both scored Big hits on me as I was entering.  Oh well, nothing a little regeneration won’t cure. I switch to my ring of fire here, as every monster in the whole damn place is gonna have a flame-branded attack of some sort.

This volcano consisted of a lake of fire, and a little vault filled with orc warriors wearing flame-related junk.  In the room above is a vault filled with more junk, as well as a “Molten Statue” that turns out to be easily tabbed to death.  Just to be safe, though, I dropped all my scrolls before I went after him. 

Back in the Mines, I finally reach the bottom of Orc.  Orc:4 always has some kind of big vault, which always consists of a troop of high-level orcs guarding 4 shops.  Here, you can see two Orc High Priests, who are one of the most dangerous enemies here.  They’re like a regular priest except with 4x HP, more smiting, and more demon summoning.

I kill the two high priests pretty easily, but one of them summoned a Sun Demon near death which walloped me two rounds in a row for a TON of hp. I had forgotten I had switched out my ring of fire, and it almost cost me. Luckily, I could blink away.

The rest of the level was quite easy, however.  Here, I find my first shop:

Which is filled with A SHITLOAD OF FUCK.  Actually, some of the items here (gourmand and wizardry) might be useful later if I can actually find some non-worthless spell books.  As it is, only the ring of poison resistance is worth buying now, although first I’ll wait until I explore the others.

The next two shops were completely worthless, but the fourth is more like it:

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww manga

Here’s an equipment update:

The boots of running are one of the best items in the game, and the cloak of Magic Resistance is an awesome find as well.  The buckler will let me train up shields so that I can eventually transition to something better.  The ring mail is great, but for now I’ll stick with my leather.

Unfortunately, I haven’t found enough curse jewelry scrolls to change up my rings.

My skills are looking good too.  As you can see, my magic skills have metastasized for the time being.  I still haven’t found a book with Haste yet, but when I do I’ll train Charms further.  If I find a Necronomicon, I’ll train Summonings and Necromancy quite a bit more in order to cast Haunt and maybe even Death’s Door.  But, for now, I’ll just continue to focus on my melee skills.

As a bonus, I go back to D:10 to finish the big water vault from earlier.  As you can see, it was totally out of my league earlier:

But, it’s no big deal now.

Finally, I go back to exploring the dungeon and meet some old friends:

Till next time!

